News Flash

Police

Posted on: June 18, 2020

CT DMV Extensions to to COVID-19

DMV

Several deadlines have been extended, affording Connecticut residents more time to renew their credentials. For official documentation, please view the Amended Orders below.  Visit CTDMV

The following extensions apply to DMV credentials/items with expiration dates between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020.

Vehicle and Boat Registrations

  • Extends by 180 days all registrations, including IRP and boat registrations, that expire between March 10 and June 30, 2020.
  • Extends by 180 days all temporary registrations obtained after March 10, 2020;

Emissions Testing

  • Extends by 180 days all emissions test or retest due dates for vehicles with testing due between March 10 and June 30, 2020.

New Residents

  • For any person who moved to Connecticut after March 10, 2020, extends by 180 days the period of time that person has to obtain a license, registration or emissions inspection in Connecticut.

Disabled Parking Placards

  • Any permanent disability placard that expires at the same time as a credential that is subject to a 180-day extension, will be extended by 180 days.

Business Licenses

  • Extends by 180 days the validity of all business licenses that expire from March 10 to June 30, 2020.

Suspension Related Matters

  • Waives all statutory deadlines associated with notice and the conduct of hearings;
  • Extends by 180 days compliance-based suspensions that are due to take effect between March 10 and June 30, 2020 (child safety seat, bad checks).
  • Waives violation and penalties associated with failing to meet 30-day recalibration of ignition interlock devices until September 10, 2020.
  • Extends compliance-based suspension for insurance compliance (provided there is proof of replacement policy) until June 8, 2020.

Inspections

  • Waives VIN verifications until September 10, 2020.

School Bus Proficiency Tests

  • Extends the validity of school bus proficiency tests that are due between March 10 and June 30, 2020, by one hundred and eighty (180) days.

Flashing Light Permits

  • Extends by one hundred and eighty (180) days all flashing light permits that expire between March 10 and June 30, 2020.

Hazmat Endorsement Holders

  • TSA is granting a temporary exemption from requirements in 49 CFR part 1572 regarding the expiration of TSA security threat assessments (STAs) for Hazardous Material Endorsement holders. See details here.

The following extensions apply to DMV credentials/items with expiration dates between July 1, 2020 and July 31, 2020.

Operator’s licenses, permits and identify cards

  • Extends ninety (90) days from due date or date of expiration

Disability placards

  • Extends ninety (90) days from due date or date of expiration

Motor vehicle and boat registrations

  • Extends ninety (90) days from due date or date of expiration

Emissions tests or retests

  • Extends ninety (90) days from due date or date of expiration

Business licenses

  • Extends ninety (90) days from due date or date of expiration

Flashing light permits

  • Extends ninety (90) days from due date or date of expiration

School bus proficiency tests (renewal only)

  • Extends ninety (90) days from due date or date of expiration

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police