- Departments M - Z
- Town Clerk
- Marriage Licenses
Appointments are required at this time. Please complete the Marriage License Worksheet and email the form along with both parties photo ID's. Please email completed worksheet with documents to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please keep in mind appointments might be days or weeks from date of inquiry. Appointments will only be scheduled once all information has been emailed and complete. The fee for a license is $50 (subject to change). Cash or checks are acceptable payments (Return check fee of $25).
Download the Marriage License Worksheet (PDF).
Premarital Requirements in Connecticut
A marriage license is required by the Marriage License Laws of Connecticut. The procedure for obtaining the marriage license and other related information is stated:
- Both parties must appear in person to be sworn in and sign the marriage license.
- You must apply in the Town where the ceremony will be performed.
- Bring valid government issued photo identification.
- License is valid for 65 days from date of application.
Applicants 18 years of age or over do not require parental consent to marry in Connecticut.
Minors 16 & 17 Years Old
Probate Court Judge of jurisdiction where minor resides must approve the issuance of a marriage license to the minor.
Under 16 Years of Age
No marriage license will be issued.
Full legal name is required. No abbreviations, nicknames or initials. The information for the marriage license should appear as it does on your birth certificate, unless your name has been legally changed (i.e. previous marriage, court order name change, naturalization).
Connecticut Residents Marrying in Another State
Not all states have the same requirements. Contact the state in which the marriage ceremony will be held.
Please contact a Justices of the Peace (PDF) and call someone from the list to make arrangements. These are the people who can perform a civil ceremony.